Spherical Billboard of a Line Strip with Geometry Shader

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting here. I made a similar thread at gamedev.net, but unfortunately I got no response, so I will try my luck here instead! My problem is very similar to this topic from 10 years ago (since I’m new here I can’t post full links, so I will just give the topic info): Billboard geometry shader posted by Vexator with topic id 6561

However, the solution posted there redirects me to the khronos forums home page.

I will briefly describe the problem also posted at gamedev. Since I can’t post links, you can google search the thread by typing : Spherical Billboard of a Line Strip with Geometry Shader in OpenGL

I’m interested in rendering hair in real time using OpenGL, so I studied Nvidia’s presentation from SIGGRAPH 2010. In it, they suggest rendering each line segment as camera facing quad instead of the GL_LINE_STRIP primitive.

My camera is built following the tutorial found at the learnopengl page.

The camera class is:

class Camera{
public:
   // camera Attributes
   glm::vec3 Position;
   glm::vec3 Front;
   glm::vec3 Up;
   glm::vec3 Right;
   glm::vec3 WorldUp;
   // euler Angles
   float Yaw;
   float Pitch;
   // camera options
   float MovementSpeed;
   float MouseSensitivity;
   float Zoom;

// ... (camera functions) ...
}

For the “eye vector”, I use the Front vector of the camera class. The line coordinates are passed in a VBO. Here is the Veretx Shader:

#version 430

layout (location = 0) in vec3 aPos;
layout (location = 1) in vec3 aColor;
layout (location = 2) in float aTransparency;
layout (location = 3) in float aSegmentIndex;
layout (location = 4) in float aThickness;

uniform vec3 camera_position;

uniform mat4 model;
uniform mat4 view;

out vec3 color;
out float transparency;

out VS_OUT{

float thickness;
vec3 eye_vector;
vec4 point;

}vs_out;

void main()
{
   gl_Position =  view* model * vec4(aPos, 1.0);

color = aColor;