wglChoosePixelFormatARB

Hi,
I’ve been having a spot of bother using WGL extensions. I’m attempting to use wglChoosePixelFormatARB in conjunction with glClampColorARB to turn off the clamping of colour values output from the fragment shader (rest assured I have a very good reason for wanting to turn off the clamping and have been informed this is the best way to do it; any other suggestions are welcome). However

wglChoosePixelFormatARB = (PFNWGLCHOOSEPIXELFORMATARBPROC)wglGetProcAddress( "wglChoosePixelFormatARB" );

returns NULL. I can’t even call

wglGetExtensionsStringARB = (PFNWGLGETEXTENSIONSSTRINGARBPROC)wglGetProcAddress( "wglGetExtensionsStringARB" );

which also returns NULL. Is there anything I need to make sure I’m doing before these calls bearing in mind this was previously working with a simple ChoosePixelFormat call before I started playing around with the clamping and changed the pixel formats accordingly.

I’m running this on an NVIDIA 6800 with ForceWare version 77.72.

Thanks in advance for any help :slight_smile:

Do you have a context valid when you make these calls?

You need a context active before you can make valid wglGetProcAddress calls. So you typically create a “dummy” context to get the handles.

Even if redundant: have a look at some of humus’ demos, and grab framework. I think that explains it all (even if a bit terse :slight_smile: ).

Thanks for the help guys, I’ve made a bit of progress but am now stumped on something else along the same lines. I managed to get something going from a combination of things I read on NeHe, Humus etc. However while I now get no errors it’s not performing as expected.

What I’m actually after is an output of unclamped float values (32-bits per component if poss) from the fragment shader and my code looks something like this at the moment:

First I set a PIXELFORMATDESCRIPTOR

static PIXELFORMATDESCRIPTOR pfd =
{
	sizeof(PIXELFORMATDESCRIPTOR),
	PFD_DRAW_TO_WINDOW |