Vulkan DescriptorSets and DynamicOffset

Hi there,

I have a question about difference between DynamicOffsets defined in vkCmdBindDescriptorSets and pBufferInfo defined at VkWriteDescriptorSet while updating DescriptorSets. As I have understood that we can use a large block of a buffer and put multiple ubos into that buffer, and specify the each location by setting DynamicOffset parameters. If so that, what is the point of defining range and offset in BufferInfo. Can’t we use range and offset info to specify location of each ubos inside of a large block of buffer.

To let you know the state of my knowledge about Vulkan API: I have no background in any API. You can just suggest that I should not dive into a low level API. I am just trying to get into Computer Graphics. I have followed Overv/VulkanTutorial with the books its referenced, and tried out SaschaWillems/Vulkan examples. Then I decided to write again a triangle renderer in Vulkan to sum up what I have learned.

Thanks!

If so that, what is the point of defining range and offset in BufferInfo.

It is orthogonal thing to do.

Can’t we use range and offset info to specify location of each ubos inside of a large block of buffer.

What if you have two (or more) different Descriptor Sets, and just happen to want to have them in a single VkBuffer.

If I understood your statement correctly, that is another thing bugging me. How does a descriptor set know which set of vertices it will supply the ubo. I could not find anywhere where we bind vertex sets and ubos. Is this happening right at binding descriptor sets to cmd buffer and calling one of the draw cmd. Or it supplies the ubo to whole buffer which is called in a draw function.

And thanks for your reply.