Transparency issues, polygon sorting, headaches...

I am an intermediate OpenGL programmer. I’ve been doing basic OpenGL stuff for years, so I’m not a newbie, but I’m also not familiar with all the advanced techniques that are out there.

One problem that has always come up over the years is efficiently and correctly drawing multiple transparent, complex objects on the screen (mixed with opaque objects as well). These are objects that move around relative to eachother, sometimes overlapping, typically with a user controlling the viewpoint location as well. This is a pretty classic problem.

The current application I am writing is really frustrating me. This particular application uses OpenGL to draw 3 complex objects on the screen:

[ol][li]An opaque, convex surface model consisting of approximately 2000 triangles.[]A transparent, extremely complex, definitely-not-convex (and possibly not even fully closed), surface model, requiring no culling, two-sided lighting, and consisting of anywhere from 40000 to 200000 triangles.[]A transparent, textured quad with an animated texture on it, requring no culling and two-sided lighting.[/ol][/li]
In this application, all 3 objects are constantly moving around relative to each other. Particularly, the objects can overlap or be inside each other. The user can adjust the camera position and orientation and will do so frequently. The view may be from inside surface #2 looking out. Two things are critical:

[ul][li]High frame rates at all times (>= 30 FPS).[*]Correct (i.e. relatively realistic, though not necessarily perfect) appearance of transparency, even when objects overlap. For example, if textured quad #3 is partially inside surface model #2, it must look correct. Note that a single triangle in quad #3 may very likely be partially contained in the surface model, so even sorting triangles back-to-front would not handle the case correctly.[/ul][/li]