Soft volumetric stencil shadows - how?

Can soft shadows be rendering using volumetric stencil shadows? How could that be done? If yes, please explain details. If a shader program is required, please outline it - I am a shader programming noob knowing barely the most things about this.

There are some algorithms, yes, but they require a lot more work and should be slower than plain shadowmap bilinear (or even PCF) filtering in most cases, because the CPU is used for additional wedge computations etc. I doubt this will even change with geomtetry shaders.

Anyways, here is a link for you.

I had googled but not found anything - probably chose inappropriate keywords.

Someone has proposed to render the shadowed parts into a texture, blur it and then render the texture as quad over the entire scene. I wonder whether I should render into an FBO, and if I can use the stencil buffer I created w/o the FBO for rendering into it? I don’t know how to write a blur shader (though I will probably/hopefully find one with google …)

i’m working on an simple approach atm, this is my first result:

still have to make it work with multiple light sources, though. the idea is quite simple: render your volumes to a texture (you can’t use fbo, as these do not support stencil yet, at least on ati) and blur this texture in a shader & blend it using a full screen quad (or use the result in another shader)… this way you can also vary the shadows’ quality, sth that’s not possible with hard edged shadows.

How do I render the volumes to a texture so that I get kind of a shadow map I can subsequently blur? I don’t have that inc/dec operations like in the stencil, so wherever I render the volume, that texture just gets black (or whatever color I use).