Question about GLSL grammar compared to desired AST output

In the 4.20 GLSL Grammar, there are these productions:

function_call:
   function_call_or_method

function_call_or_method:
   function_call_generic

function_call_generic:

I’m building a parser for GLSL. I’ve found that “function_call_or_method” and “function_call_generic” are only used here, nowhere else. I’m fairly new to parsing in general. When I’m building an AST, should I follow the rules in the GLSL spec and produce an AST that contains {function_call: { function_call_or_method: { function_call_generic: {...}}} or is it ok to simply produce a function call?

I don’t understand why the grammar has these rules that only produce a function_call_generic. What is the utility of these intermediate rules?

If I use the GLSL parser on astexplorer . net - it doesn’t produce the intermediate nodes. It produces a “call.” I don’t think the JS parser here is the most robust, so I’m not sure if I should be comparing against this.

This is my first time building a parser of this size. In general I’m trying to figure out the reasoning of which rules from the grammar I should include my parser, and which are OK to collapse.

If the answer is “it depends on what you want your parser to do,” the end goal of my parser is to be able to:

• Re-print the exact same program from the input program
  • Find “significant” sections of the program - variables, functions, and be able to arbitrarily define what is “significant” - maybe some walker cares about addition operators, for example
  • Ideally be able to perform the same type of vertex/fragment validation the browser does on a shader program

I looked at various versions of the GLSL specification, and note that up to and including 4.20 revision 6, the grammar definition said

function_call_or_method:
    function_call_generic
    postfix_expression DOT function_call_generic

By 4.20 revision 11, this had changed to

function_call_or_method:
    function_call_generic