Poly Transformation with Octree/Frustum culling

Greets all, first post here. I’m a software engineer at EA Canada, mostly C/C++ stuff, done moderate amount of work with OpenGL and starting to do more. Here’s my Q:

I’m implementing Octree + Frustrum culling for viewing of static + dynamic geometry in a scene. For the dynamic geometry (i.e position, orientation constantly changing), I should need to transform the vertices of the models so that they can properly be inserted into the octree struct and culled with the frustum (if I’m wrong here, someone please tell me). Should I build my own transformation matrix for each model and then transform the polys with it, before inserting them into the octree? Or is there a better way to do this?

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

If what you’re talking about is regular
moveable animatable meshes, why do you need
to cull them at all? All you need to do is
decide if some part of the thing ('s boudning
sphere) intersects the viewing frustum.

Assuming they do, just throw 'em all at the
card and be happy. The extra transform work
(even if you don’t have HT&L) is fairly
minimal, and may be less than the expense of
trying to keep an octree up to date. With
HT&L, it certainly WILL be cheap to render
rather than update the tree, unless you have
massive polygon areas with repeated fills.

Originally posted by bgl:
[b]If what you’re talking about is regular
moveable animatable meshes, why do you need
to cull them at all? All you need to do is
decide if some part of the thing ('s boudning
sphere) intersects the viewing frustum.

Assuming they do, just throw 'em all at the
card and be happy. The extra transform work
(even if you don’t have HT&L) is fairly
minimal, and may be less than the expense of
trying to keep an octree up to date. With
HT&L, it certainly WILL be cheap to render
rather than update the tree, unless you have
massive polygon areas with repeated fills.[/b]