glDrawElements(GL_TRIANGLES) gives a blank screen but glDrawElements(GL_POINTS) works

Hi
I am drawing a 3D point cloud in OpenGL4.5. running on Ubuntu Linux 23.04, code is C++.

I read in a file with the point cloud data in *.ply format. Please see my ply files here:

Code and PointCloud files.

I am very new to OpenGL and trying to debug it. I just learnt today about RenderDoc for debugging. I captured a log but can’t yet figure out how to find anomalies related to the below error I describe. If it helps here’s the RenderDoc log capture: RenderDoc Log Capture

I am using glDrawElements() to draw the point cloud. The problem is that while I can successfully draw a point cloud with glDrawElements(GL_POINTS,…) (right hand side of below screenshot)…

I cannot draw (the screen is blank) when I use glDrawElements(GL_TRIANGLES,…) or glDrawElements(GL_TRIANGLE_STRIP,…).

I define one Vertex Array Object (VAO) and Vertex Buffer Object (VBO) which I set up with position(xyzw) data first, then color(rgba) data, then point size.

Here is the code to set up the VAO and VBO.

void setup_VAO_VBO(void)
{
   // configure global opengl state
   // -----------------------------
   glEnable(GL_DEPTH_TEST);
   glEnable(GL_DEBUG_OUTPUT_SYNCHRONOUS); 
   // glEnable(GL_MULTISAMPLE); // enabled by default on some drivers, but not all so always enable to make sure
   glDepthFunc(GL_LESS); // Accept fragment if it closer to the camera than the former one

glEnable(GL_PROGRAM_POINT_SIZE);
   glEnable(GL_VERTEX_PROGRAM_POINT_SIZE);
   //glEnable(GL_POINT_SPRITE);
   //glPointParameteri(GL_POINT_SPRITE_COORD_ORIGIN, GL_LOWER_LEFT);
   //glEnable(GL_BLEND); // to recognise/implement a varying alpha value for r,g,b,alpha vertex colour attribute
   //glBlendFunc(GL_SRC_ALPHA, GL_SRC_ALPHA);

//glFrontFace(GL_CW);
   //glEnable(GL_CULL_FACE); // https://learnopengl.com/Advanced-OpenGL/Face-culling