Displacement of a particle in vertex shader

Hey! I’m a newbie at GLSL.With that being said:

The problem: What I want to do is send in a particle from OpenGL using VBO and in GLSL move the particle every frame with say a constant velocity.

Code makes this more clear I think.

void main( void )
{
	gl_Position = gl_ModelViewProjectionMatrix * vec4(gl_Vertex.x +2.0, gl_Vertex.yzw);

}

What I want this code to do:
First frame the particle should move 2.0 from its starting possition and frame 2 the particle should be 4.0 from its starting possition etc. That’s how I want it to be.(I’ve tried a “time” variable from OpenGL but that’s not what I want.)

So I want the vertex shader to calculate this every frame without me sending in a new particle every frame. Is that possible?

I’ve been reading up on glMapBuffer but it feels like a detour to send data back to the cpu and then just return it again.

I’ve managed to get the particle to GLSL and from what I can see the vertex shader runs only one time, the first time the particle is sent in to the grafics card.
I know I can’t excpect the vertex shader to know what I want to do but I thought that was the standard.

Can I tell the vertex shader from OpenGL every frame that it should run with all the particles already on the GPU? Or is there any better way?

If anything is unclear I’ll gladly explain more about it.

I greatly appreciate your help!
//Englesson

Your particle data is stored in VBO, right? So it’s already on server (GPU) side, ready for processing.

You can do either absolute or relative modelling.

1. Absolute:
    p(t) = p(0) + f(t)
    your f(t,x) = t * vector3(2.0,0.0,0.0)
    where t = time passed in seconds
    Can be easily implemented right inside the draw shader (similar to what you posted).

2. Relative:
    p(t) = f(p(t-delta))
    your f(x) = x + delta*vector3(2.0,0.0,0.0)