Automatize adjustment of the Shadow Map Projection (by projection the points of interest onto the near clipping plane of the light source)

Hello everyone,

I am new to this so please be forgiving when I cannot explain my situation in a way where everyone instantly understands the problem but I am already thankful for your help!

I am working with OpenGL so Coding in C++.

Task:
I have a simple scene where I have one object, a one-point source of light, and a camera. Now I am moving the light around the object and up. When I reached all positions I want, I rotate the object and/or move the camera upwards. When I got all the positions of the light and the camera, I switch the object.
Of course, all the time the lighting and the shadows should be correct. But currently, this is not the case. Which leads me to the…

Problem:
Sometimes there are shadows in the background where actually shouldn’t be one
[iamge with the wrong shadow in the back][1]

I expect that the shadow map is not big enough to capture this part of the scene. Because of multiple changes in the scene, I want to automate the definition of the size of the shadow map.

What I have so far:
I define the maximal bounding box around every object to know the maximal dimensions here. Through drawing the bounding box and debugging I can say that this is calculated correctly. (I know that I have to take the extent of the base surface into account as well but to clarify if my algorithm works well, I leaf that out for a second)

To geht the extents on the near clipping plane, I project them onto the near clipping plane of the light source to get dimantions for the shadow map I need to use.For the Projection I span the base for the plane with the up and the right vector of the plane. The projection matrix I calculate with A * (A^T * A)^(-1) * A^T
When I now switch the view so that I see the scene from the perspective of the light, I see what I expect: The whole picture is just the object.