Very long-term compatibility

A very critical reason for my choice of whether to use Vulkan or not will be very long-term compatibility. I’m not jumping into a new API if it introduces a deprecation/removal model that doesn’t guarantee backwards compatibility in the very long run. I’ve been a OpenGL developer since its introduction in the 90s. It has served me very well during these decades, because of both multiplatform compatibility and long-term compatibility.

If Vulkan defines a deprecation/removal model, don’t count on me using it, because I really need that my source code lasts for decades. I’ll choose another path in such case.

Ooops, sorry, I thought this subforum was about Vulkan. Please feel free to move this to the proper subforum.

There isn’t really a “proper subforum” for Vulkan here. Vulkan and OpenGL are separate entities, neither replaces the other. Yes, they’re both rendering APIs, but they serve different sets of developers. Vulkan developers are those who want performance so badly that they’ll be willing to effectively write a graphics driver for their application. OpenGL developers are those who want performance, but are willing to sacrifice some performance for easier development.

As such, OpenGL and Vulkan have separate forums. That’s not to say that you can’t talk about it here. But it’s far less likely to be seen by the people who you want to see it.

As to your suggestion, if API stability is so important to you, then just wrap it up on your end. Vulkan is a graphics API with exactly one goal: providing maximum performance for GPUs. And if that means the API needs to change with GPUs, I hope that Khronos allows it to do so. If that puts a burden on developers who don’t like changing their code, then you write a backend wrapper and you only change that when Vulkan changes.