Understanding subpass dependency

I’m a beginner and I’m learning from the tutorial: vulkan-tutorial(rendering and presentation lesson).

I don’t fully understand how pipeline works and I don’t understand: what pipeline stages can be in VK_SUBPASS_EXTERNAL if there are no other commands before the rendering pass?

The half of the dependency with VK_SUBPASS_EXTERNAL acts exactly the same as vkCmdPipelineBarrier (as far as theory goes).

srcStageMask points to the previous use of the resource (and if there is not any, then it can be empty). In case of the tutorial it would likely be vkAcquireNextImage, which passes the ball via a semaphore, which in turn is waited on in pWaitDstStageMask. And you should probably reference this wait in the dependency, in order to avoid modifying the image via layout transition before it is even acquired.

1 Like

Unless the render pass is the first thing you’ve ever submitted to this queue, there are always things before the render pass. Dependencies don’t stop at command buffer, or even queue submission, boundaries.

So the command to get the image from the swapchain also goes through the pipeline? Or what?
P.S: It’s not exactly clear to me what the steps could be if there is no pipeline

Hm, yea. You need to wholistically understand the overal theory of the synchronization system otherwise your question do not quite make sense… I am not comfortable to answer it “yes” nor “no”, as it is stated.

In short, the semaphore wait happens in the pWaitDstStageMask. I.e. in a specific pipeline stage you provide in this parameter.

You didn’t mention anything about swap chain images in your post. Or the semaphores you have to use when trying to use them.

Swap chain image acquisition is not a queue operation; it is a process that is part of the display engine, which is not part of Vulkan. However, it can be tied into Vulkan via the use of a semaphore. That is, when the display engine has acquired the image, it will signal a Vulkan semaphore.