Texture scaling in OpenGL

Hello
This is my first time posting here, so please bare with me. Now, I have a question about texture scaling in OpenGL. I’d like to know which version of OpenGL introduced the texture/display or framebuffer scaling feature. I hope that I’m asking in the right section and that you will be able to help me.

Cheers -Adam

All versions of OpenGL (and IrisGL before that) support texture mapping. It’s a fundamental feature of the hardware for which those APIs were originally designed. Actually, it’s the fundamental feature.

If you want to display a texture without scaling, you have to make an effort to select the vertex positions and texture coordinates accordingly.

So scaling up an image of a game or something and texture mapping is the same thing? Maybe you didn’t quite get my question, I know that I probably made it seem confusing.

Scaling is a subset of texture mapping. The texture mapping supported by all versions of OpenGL allows for arbitrary projective transformations, i.e.
u = (c11.x+c12.y+c13)/(c31.x+c32.y+c33)
v = (c21.x+c22.y+c23)/(c31.x+c32.y+c33)
A “scaled blit” (without rotation or shear) corresponds to the specific case [c12=0, c21=0, c31=0, c32=0, c33=1], i.e.
u = c11.x+c13
v = c22.y+c23

If you’re referring to the ability to render at a lower resolution then upscale, the way that would be done now (using framebuffer objects) requires OpenGL 3.0 or either the EXT_framebuffer_object or ARB_geometry_shader4 extension. Previously, that would require rendering to some platform-specific off-screen surface (pbuffer, GLXPixmap, etc) then copying the framebuffer contents into a texture which could then be scaled via texture mapping.

Having rendered to a texture or renderbuffer, the result can then be copied to the window with scaling using glBlitFramebuffer (which was added in 3.0 via the EXT_framebuffer_blit extension). Or if rendered to a texture, that can then be rendered to the window using texture mapping.