Slow rendering upon first call

Dear all,
I am working on a visualization program for molecules. It is quite useful to index all the atoms in a molecule to reference them. Therefore, I started playing with a second shader code that draws numbers using a geometry shader. When I start my program and load a molecule everything works fine. Upon drawing the numbers with a call to glDrawArrays the code takes 30 seconds to draw the first frame. After that turning the numbers off and on again does not cause any noticeable delay. Even after restarting my computer using the code and displaying numbers remains very fast. The code is written in Python with pyside6 and by OpenGL.
The questions:
Why does this happen? I can only speculate that the code is somehow compiled just in time behind the scenes, although I compiled and linked it upon booting.
Is there any way of speeding up the first rendering? Either by precompiling or by some other means?
I have looked through old forum posts, but I did not find any satisfying answers.

Best regards

30 seconds to draw a single frame with rasterization is insane.

You’re going to have to profile your Python code and see what it’s doing.
You’re the only one with the ability to collect the raw data needed to identify the actual bottleneck(s).
And the ability to inspect your code and see exactly what you’re doing.
Start with what “part” your code is taking 30 seconds, and narrow it down from there.
If you’re using Python inefficiently, it could very well just be the Python overhead.

Hi,