Recommendation for starting with OpenXR

Hello,

I have just started VR development (Windows OS, and VIVE Pro Eye headset). I would like to have some guidelines from experts here. Let me begin:

Is there any better way to start with OpenXR?

Microsoft has some nice documents https://aka.ms/openxr You can also see my “Master Class” on OpenXR: link to the video and slides with speaker notes from my most recent presentation of it at https://khr.io/chinavr

hello_xr is a good example of one way to make a very cross-platform app, though this does obscure some of the OpenXR details a bit. One of my colleagues @haagch has written a simpler “straight line code” example (that only does OpenGL, and only on Linux) that might help demonstrate the concepts more clearly: https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/monado/demos/openxr-simple-example/

1 Like

Thank you very much @ryliepavlik . I was exploring all available documentation, and as you can understand, I am just a beginner. If I may ask two more questions:

1. Will the Microsoft Mixed Reality examples also work for VIVE VR (runtime steamVR)? I thought those are especially designed for HoloLens. Although the codes are developed with DX11, I need either OpenGL or DX12 at least.
  2. The Ubuntu Monado-openxr-simple-example is easier to understand. However, AFAIK, SteamVR runtime, probably not a good option for Ubuntu. I found there are a lot of bug issues ValveSoftware/SteamVR. Is there any run-time software if I run Monado samples that works for VIVE Pro Eye?

The MS mixed reality samples will probably mostly work, as long as they don’t use extensions only implemented by the MS runtime. Think SteamVR supports OpenGL, D3D11, D3D12, and Vulkan, so that’s ok.