Problem with Fixed Foveated Rendering, both eyes are always using the left eye ring

Hi,

I’m a developer of Falcon BMS (falcon-bms.com). A free mod, made by hobbyist like me in the last 25 years, of Falcon 4.0 (flight simulator from 1998)

In the last months I’ve added OpenXR support and, sincerely, I must say that it works like a charm. So thanks for making the standard and support in the past months.

The problem is that using OpenXR Toolkit I cannot get to work Fixed Foveated Rendering correctly in headsets with asymmetrical frustum (anything besides Pico4, which has symmetrical frustum for both eyes).

Let me explain the problem:

I cannot make the right eye FFR to work, both eyes seem to me that they are using the left eye FFR’s mask.

The following image is from a Quest 3, I’ve added CULL in the OpenXR Toolkit middle ring so it’s easier to see where it’s located.

It’s easy to see that both rings are the same, for the left and right eyes, and that the left one is centered (OTK menu is in the middle of the circle) and the right eye is not centered.

I believe this is due to the fact that both eyes are being rendered at the same time, to their own RenderTarget DX11 textures and then, right before xrEndFrame(), both RTTs are being copied to OpenXR’s SwapChain RTTs.

A simple diagram of the rendering pipeline to clarify the above concept:

In brief:

My question is if there is any way to force FFR eye with some parameter in the RTT or similar? Maybe something related to TextureArrays?

or is it mandatory to render between each acquired XrSwapChain?

If anyone can throw a little bit of light in this I appreciate it a lot!

I prefer to ask before refactoring a 25+ years sources with several contributors through the years is waaay faaaaaaaar from easy.

The expected result should be something like this:

Last words: