Please help...

I was once a Dark Basic user, and now, I am thinking about moving up to more advance 3D graphic programming. I wonder if anyone can help me with what should I do next. I am thinking of taking up C++ and a 3D engine, but don’t really know which to take up:

1)OpenGL
2)DirectX
3)Power Render(?)
4)Fly3D(?)

Forgive me, but I’m VERY new to C++. I got myself a few C++ Books, such as Teach yourself C++, Sam’s, and a few more. Please help me. Thanks.

OpenGL should be easier to learn than DX but obviously we’re all biased here. It’s also portable if you program on different platforms. Although there are free game engines out there, you would learn the most from developing a game engine yourself, like most people here do. The problem is, 3D graphics programming using OpenGL requires fairly advanced C/C++, geometry and linear algebra knowledge. If you are really keen, I’d suggest you get comfortable with C first, then a bit of OpenGL, then C++ and more OpenGL. OpenGL is a C API anyway, so you don’t need C++ at first, and it is definitely harder to learn. Maths is an important skill for a better understanding of the 3D graphics world. The more you learn of the above skills, the more you’ll gain from applying them to 3D graphics.

Have fun!

I see. But which is more powerful? OpenGL? or DX? I’ve heard quite a lot about DX(you know, features such as shadowing, fogging…blah blah), but not really a lot about Opengl. Recently, on a post on DB, someone introduced me to OpenGL, so I thought that I could give it a try. But then, let’s just assume that I want to be a game programmer, will OpenGL provides me with the power I need to create a commercial game? (Once again, just assuming. )

Thanks for your time and patience.