OpenGL ES: Stencil buffers and culling weird behaviour

Hello

I am new to OpenGL and i am trying out few experiments especially with the stencil buffers.
In my code, I have set the front and back stencil buffers separately using glStencilFuncSeparate to 0x5 and 0xC respectively(GL_ALWAYS as parameter to the function). glStencilOpSeparate is set for front and back states to GL_REPLACE for dppass. I have also ensured that the depth and the culling are disabled when I setup both the stencil buffers.

Next I try to render a cube with depth, front culling and stencil test enabled. I am now using glStencilFuncSeparate() to draw only the back stencil setup area by comparing against 0x12. As the front face is culled away, I expect only the areas covered by my back stencil buffer whose value is 0x12 to be displayed.

But to my dismay, it displays blank screen. When it give the value for comparision as 0x5(front stencil init val) with cull face as front, I am able to see the portion of the cube.

So it seems to indicate that, the back face of the cube is compared against the front stencil when culling is set to GL_FRONT. All other parameters like StencilClear(value 0x1) looks proper and i somehow cannot understand this behavior.

#Setup the stencil
                glStencilMaskSeparate(GL_FRONT_AND_BACK,0xff)
				glStencilFuncSeparate(GL_FRONT,GL_ALWAYS, 0x5, 0xff)
				glStencilFuncSeparate(GL_BACK,GL_ALWAYS, 0xc, 0xff)
				glStencilOpSeparate(GL_FRONT,GL_KEEP, GL_KEEP, GL_REPLACE)
				glStencilOpSeparate(GL_BACK,GL_FRONT,GL_KEEP, GL_KEEP, GL_REPLACE)
			    glColorMask (GL_FALSE, GL_FALSE, GL_FALSE, GL_FALSE)
			    glDepthMask(GL_FALSE)
                glDrawArrays(GL_TRIANGLES, 0, 6)

#enable culling 
		glCullFace(GL_FRONT)
		glEnable(GL_CULL_FACE)

#Draw a cube
glStencilOpSeparate(GL_FRONT,GL_KEEP,GL_KEEP,GL_REPLACE)
glStencilOpSeparate(GL_BACK,GL_KEEP,GL_KEEP,GL_REPLACE)
glColorMask (GL_FALSE, GL_FALSE, GL_FALSE, GL_FALSE)
glDepthMask(GL_FALSE)