Installation of OpenGL libraries for WSL2

Hi all -

Absolute novice here, so I hope I’m asking this in the right forum.

I’ve installed WSL2 and vcxsrv on my Windows 10 system. The goal is to get Qt and its apps running under WSL2. When I try to start most apps, I get these messages:

libGL error: No matching fbConfigs or visuals found
libGL error: failed to load driver: swrast

I’ve read various topics regarding these errors, and most seem to point to a problem with how OpenGL is installed, but I can’t find anything definitive.

A few more data points:

glxgears launches, but is very very slow. Here’s a little of the output:

mzimmers@mzimmers-home:/$ glxgears
libGL error: No matching fbConfigs or visuals found
libGL error: failed to load driver: swrast
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
34371 frames in 9.2 seconds = 3747.099 FPS
16697 frames in 9.1 seconds = 1835.926 FPS
16696 frames in 9.1 seconds = 1831.534 FPS
16991 frames in 9.2 seconds = 1852.845 FPS

And this:

mzimmers@mzimmers-home:/ glxinfo | grep OpenGL libGL error: No matching fbConfigs or visuals found libGL error: failed to load driver: swrast OpenGL vendor string: Intel OpenGL renderer string: Intel(R) UHD Graphics 630 OpenGL version string: 1.4 (4.6.0 - Build 27.20.100.8681) OpenGL extensions: mzimmers@mzimmers-home:/

So…I really don’t know what’s going on, but perhaps someone in this forum can give me an idea.

Thanks…

I googled

and got
this

So, that person seemed to have the same symptoms I do, but he solved it with a combination of Nvidia drivers (which I don’t imagine will work on my non-Nvidia system), and bypassing the X server with that EGL Eye.

It’s not clear to me how this will work for me – seems like my X server is working OK (otherwise, I couldn’t see things like Qt Creator and xeyes) – the problem appears to be in the correct installation of the OpenGL libraries.

mzimmers