Huge performance drop when rendering 60 tris on screen (overdraw)

Hi,

I’m studying the root cause of some perfomance hit on a particular case that I’m having which I believe has something to do with the hardware fillrate / overdraw limitations. Nevertheless, I still want to dedicate some time into improving (or find alternatives) for a solution to mitigate this behaviour:

So I have a scene with:

• 30 cubes:
    • Each one composed of 4 faces, each with 2 triangles and drawn with glDrawElements(GL_TRIANGLES, indicesCount, GL_UNSIGNED_INT, 0);
  • Viewport resolution of 1920 x 1027
  • Deferred shading (6 color attachments)
  • 3 Render Passes (geometry + screen shading + screen post processing)

and when rendering those 30 objects at once in the same position, with a good camera distance from them, I get 60 fixed FPS, with a low GPU usage (~40%)

but when rendering those 30 objects at once in the same position, with a close camera distance, I get around 40 FPS, with a high GPU usage (~90%)

The same distance but with a small separatino between the cubes, I get a little more frames, but still a high GPU usage.

I only want to share this behaviour here in order to discuss it further so I can find some good viewpoints on how to go around it, becuase this could impact when rendering scenes where some particles (compsed of billboarded sprites come in close distance with the camera, or when using transparency with multiple layered objects at once).

Is there any name or known way of dealing with this, because I haven’t found anything while searching for it.

regards,
Jakes

You sure you don’t mean 6 faces per cube?

25 ms for 30 layers of fill at 1920x1027 seems very slow.

What GPU and CPU system is this? And PC/laptop make/model?

That’s likely an aggravating factor. In combination with missing occlusion-based optimizations.

Sure. First thing is to confirm exactly where the bottleneck(s) are though.