How to display a loading bar (2021)

Related to this 2002 thread:

I’m also trying to make a progress bar using OpenGL/GLEW/GLFW/GLUT. I didn’t get your logic can u explain that. or maybe share a full code to get the idea. And how to make progress bar animation using OpenGL?

Hello !

Well it depends on what you’re loading. I’m not an expert on these libraries, but if it’s images and that this task is done OUTSIDE of the rendering (which should be the case, loading from the hard drive is usually performed by the CPU) then the way I usually go around it is to load the images in a different thread, so that they may be loaded while the main visual program is still running in parallel.

You may then, on your loading thread, keep track of the fact that the program is currently loading something and the loading progress amount (by any metric you see fit, the quantity of data loaded, or the number of images if there are a certain number of them…) and then the rendering program could check in this thread if loading is currently happening, in which case a “loading bar” is displayed with the advancement specified in the other thread.

If multi threading is not an option, it may also be possible to load a few images at each frame, not so much that it lags, but this solution seems pretty ugly haha.

This is only architectural and I’ll leave it to someone who knows more about these library help you with the specifics !

Hope it helped a bit :slight_smile: