How do I build GLEW for mingw-w64 using cmake on Windows?

I downloaded the source files for GLEW here, but have no idea how to build it for mingw-w64 on Windows using the cmd prompt. I’ve tried cmake ./cmake but it automatically makes files for Visual Studio.

Also tried downloading the the Windows binaries, but from what I read, those libs only work for Visual Studio.

Does anybody know how to correctly build GLEW for mingw-w64 on Win8 using only the cmd prompt?

By the way, this is how I’m building my little game and linking the necessary libs:

g++ src/main.cpp src/core.cpp src/renderer.cpp src/vkdebug.cpp src/debug.cpp src/time.cpp -I include -I include -L lib -lglew32 -lOpenGL32 -lglfw3dll -o Game

At this moment I’m linking against the lib files found in the GLEW Windows 64bit binary zip. It compiles with no errros, but when I run my game, it fails to Init GLEW, I’m guessing because the libs are for Visual Studio.

Thanks and my apologies, I’m still learning.

If the libs were incompatible with your build environment it would fail to link.

Here’s a useful tip: in at least 99% of cases if you’re thinking “it’s my build environment”, or “it’s my libs”, or “it’s my OS”, or “it’s my driver”, it’s actually not: it’s your code.

In this case the most likely cause of GLEW failing to initialize is that you’re calling glewInit before you’ve created your OpenGL context. Review your code, check that this isn’t the case, and post back.

[QUOTE=mhagain;1283370]If the libs were incompatible with your build environment it would fail to link.

Here’s a useful tip: in at least 99% of cases if you’re thinking “it’s my build environment”, or “it’s my libs”, or “it’s my OS”, or “it’s my driver”, it’s actually not: it’s your code.

In this case the most likely cause of GLEW failing to initialize is that you’re calling glewInit before you’ve created your OpenGL context. Review your code, check that this isn’t the case, and post back.[/QUOTE]