Effective / Resourceful Video Streaming

Hi, I’m fairly new to OpenGL and therefore tried to avoid posting here - but I’ve been scratching my head the past couple of weekends.
I’m trying to display video using OpenGL to eventually run on a Banana PI (Raspberry Pi but cheaper).
Thus far I read a video, decode it, store every frame in a vector (for now) and display it using glTexImage2D/glTexSubImage2D. Initially, i followed the guide on learnopengl(dot)com to get a grasp of what to do. Then I read the Wiki about useful techniques like the use of PBOs and Orphaning.

My previous (simpler) attempt looked something like this:

while (!glfwWindowShouldClose(window)) {

process_input(window);

// clear the colorbuffer
    glClearColor(0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f);
    glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);

shader.use();

uint8_t *frame = *&frames.at(current_frame);

current_frame = ++current_frame % frames.size();

if (initial_frame) {
        // load texture into OpenGL
        glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGB, width, height, 0, GL_RGBA, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, frame);
        // bind texture
        glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, texture);
    } else {
        // update texture
        glTexSubImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGB, width, height, 0, GL_RGBA, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, frame);
    }

// create mipmap - the texture scaled to different sizes
    glGenerateMipmap(GL_TEXTURE_2D);

// bind vertices
    glBindVertexArray(VAO);
    glDrawElements(GL_TRIANGLES, 6, GL_UNSIGNED_INT, 0);
    glBindVertexArray(0);

glfwSwapBuffers(window);
    glfwPollEvents();
}

It ran somewhat well on my main machine but got maybe 1/3 to 1/2 the FPS of the video on the Pi.
After adding the PBO to store multiple frames on the GPU and orphaning the data to continuously update, it seemed like the video didn’t run any faster on my main machine and I’m not sure where to go from here.