Do I need 2 FBO + textures for proper double Buffering?

Hello there,

it may be my dizzy Sunday morning brain, but i am wondering if double buffering while using FBO for post processing only makes sense if i use 2 FBO or 1 FBO with 2 texture color attachments.

Think about:
If the double Buffering display is reading currently from buffer A - and for that it´s reading from the FBO´s color texture,
and in the background the next frame is already rendered offscreen into the same texture,
than i have the same problem as if i am only doing single buffering… right ?

So for the display buffer A I need a off screen texture for post processing,
and for display buffer B I need a separate off screen texture, right ?

Please tell me if i am totaly wrong here … but i just cant find info about this on the web or in my books,
but it sound logic to me.

Thanx
kai

I’m no expert, but I don’t think you need two framebuffers.

If you are rendering to the offscreen FBO the pixels in that FBO only make it to the screen once you draw() that FBO on the screen on top of a full-screen quad right? So then your double-buffering would still work because when you swap_buffers() you can no longer even draw or change the buffer that’s on the screen until you draw and swap_buffers() again.

It’s not quite clear, but I think you’re concerned about how best to ensure parallel execution of:

1. GPU execution (rendering) of frame N, and
  2. CPU queuing of frame N+1.

Right?

Also, your processing flow is not quite clear to me, but it sounds something like:

• Frame N+0: Render to tex A (via FBO A), display tex A on double-buffered window.
  • Frame N+1: Render to tex A (via FBO A), display tex A on double-buffered window.

and due to concerns about conflicts over tex A between Frames N and N+1, you’re contemplating adding a new texture B, and alternating between textures A and B, like this:

• Frame N+0: Render to tex A (via FBO A), display tex A on double-buffered window.