Any way to make a similar method to OpenVR’s Submit_TextureWithPose?

Hi everybody!

I have experience in 3d programming (OpenGL/D3D), also SteamVR and OpenVR, but I’m kinda new in OpenXR.

I’m adding OpenXR support to an existing application.

For doing so:

• I capture the framebuffer from the application once it has been rendered
  • For each rendered framebuffer I have the headset’s XrPosef with which it was rendered at the moment of xrWaitFrame xrBeginFrame xrEndFrame
  • I render this framebuffer as a RTT to a quad, but I’d like to add a relative offset between the actual headset pose and the one with which it was rendered.

Now I have something kinda working the following way:

• xrSpace: appSpace of type XR_REFERENCE_SPACE_TYPE_VIEW
  • xrSpace: poseSpace of type XR_REFERENCE_SPACE_TYPE_LOCAL
  1. Before starting to render a new frame I calculate predicted pose at next frame using poseSpace (LOCAL)
  2. At the moment of sending the frame to render into OpenXR I recalculate headset position at xrWaitFrame’s predictedTime and poseSpace (LOCAL), then calculate the relative position between the original rendered pose and the new one and adjust the quad position with projection + view matrices.
  3. For XrViewLocateInfo I use the appSpace (VIEW)

As said it works, but it has a minimal vibration. And I was wondering if there is a more elegant way to do it.

My question is:

Is there any other way to add this relative position instead of doing it myself in the graphic plugin with a shader? Maybe creating a XrReferenceSpaceCreateInfo or similar?

The goal is to make something similar to OpenVR’s Submit_TextureWithPose:

vr_compositor_->Submit(vr::Eye_Right, &rightEyeTexture, nullptr, vr::Submit_TextureWithPose);

Thank you very much in advance for any help!

Kind regards!!