Animate Car Exterior Parts?

Hello everybody,

I’m quite new to graphical programming and OpenGL and would like to ask the following:
Is it possible to somehow make the doors, hood and trunk of this car model animate with open/close actions?

I see it’s written “Animation: No” in the description but I’m having a hard time finding any model that supports animation according to its description. Should the model specifically or it’s possible to somehow create it myself?
I searched for video tutorials and so on but found none for what I need.

I should create this project in the next two weeks so any help is greatly appreciated, even if it means using a different 3D car model or even a different car model than a Dodge Charger.

Hope anyone can shed some light on this :slight_smile:

Without editing the model in a 3D modeling package? Depends on how the model is constructed.

I’m not famiilar with that site, but a few words about “Rigged” and “Animated”. These are terms that often refer to “Skeletal Animation”. Generally, “Rigged” means the model has been fitted to a joint skeleton to which animations can be applied (by changing the joint transforms). “Animated” sometimes means that, not only has the model been “Rigged” but that pre-defined animation sequences (keyframes of joint transforms for the joint skeleton) have been generated to animate the model through a sequence of named animation sequences. With these, and software that supports rendering such models, you can animate the model through these predefined animation sequences at-will.

I don’t know what your requirements and scope are. But (in the absense of that) you could find a simple (non-rigged, non-animated) model with an obvious joint, segment the model’s vertices and faces into its 2 (or 3) distinct pieces, and then apply a simple animation to those parts.