Access violation in clGetPlatformIDs

Hello,
I am a student working to get some older OpenCL code running. It is an application that uses Matlab mex functions to call some C++. A Matlab script compiles the C++ code, then runs it to get the OpenCL stuff going.

The first OpenCL function called is

err = clGetPlatformIDs(0, 0, &nplatforms);

My understanding is that this should put the number of platforms in nplatforms, but I get an access violation instead. What should I be checking for?

Thanks.

@rgillen, why did you copy/paste your post from a year ago as a new thread here?

After a year, do you really have the exact same question? You didn’t provide any additional info (GPU, OpenCL driver, what you’ve tried, etc.). So it’s unclear why you think this post should generate anything useful.

Please see The Forum Posting Guidelines for tips on composing a post that is more likely to net you the information you’re looking for.

Have you tried any of the solutions in the archives for folks having exactly the same problem?

The jist of it is you probably don’t have your graphics drivers installed properly.

I realize now that my post looks like a low-effort attempt at help with homework – I will do better.

I do in fact have the same question from a year ago. The previous thread was closed after nobody felt like responding, so thank you for the feedback. I read all of the posts you linked before my original post and decided the circumstances were different enough that I would start over.

Here is what I know: I am running Windows 10 on a Dell Precision 3541 laptop. The Device Manager shows 3 display adapters:

• Intel(R) UHD Graphics 630 - driver version 30.0.101.1338 dated 1/20/22
  • NVIDIA Quadro P620 - driver version 31.0.15.1654 dated 6/22/22
  • Plugable UD-3900 - (DisplyLink) driver version 10.1.2875.0 dated 8/11/21

Under Driver Details for the first two I see C:\WINDOWS\system32\OpenCL.dll in the list.