wglCreateContext - System restart

Our application uses opnegl to render some 3d graphs.
First call to wglCreateContext seems to take more time after system restart (Almost 3 secs).
After that the time taken is just 1/10 or less (0.3 to 0.2 secs).
This high log is seen only for the first invocation of wglCreateContext after every restart.
Is this any known case?

I am new to opengl so kindly pardon my ignorance on the same.

Regards,
Amal

The first call to wglCreateContext is going to initialise OpenGL, and possibly a large portion of the driver for the video hardware. So the behaviour isn’t unexpected.

Thanks for the update. Will it be possible to elaborate a bit on the same. Like why there is a difference in times for the first call and subsequent calls. Is anything specific limited to just the first call? Also, is there any way to minimise the duration of the first call?

Because the first call has to initialise everything.

Probably not. But you can run the application on system start so that when you actually want to use it, it won’t be the first call.

Thank you for the details.
Do we have any specific APIs that would help us identify if opengl is already initialized?
Another query I have is whether it is possible to initialize opengl on system start up by enabling some options/services or some BIOS flag?

It’s more that the graphics driver (which implements the OpenGL API) is probably doing initialization work on the first context creation, so anything related to that would be very driver specific.