Very poor OpenCL performance

Hello,

I’m new to OpenCL, so I guess I’m doing some silly mistake…

I tried to create simple program for image thresholding using OpenCL. Simplified version of the source code source is attached to this post. The program work well, but execution time is very poor.

When I execute the program on RGB image 5760x3240, the program output is [time is in miliseconds]:

clCreateBuffer: 25.649242
clSetKernelArg: 0.001205
clEnqueueNDRangeKernel: 0.536059
clFinish: 66.903236
clEnqueueReadBuffer: 17.060545

When I use IPP’s threshold (Intel performance primitives) on the same picture, then the threshold takes 40 ms.

Why is my OpenCL program running on GPU so slow? I expected it to be much more faster.

My hardware:

Win7 Home, 64bit
CPU AMD Phenom II X4 965, 3.4GHs (4 cores)
6GB RAM
GPU: GIGABYTE, ATI Radeon 5750
AMD APP SDK v2.4

Thanks for any hint…

My program:
//---------------------------------------------------------------------------

#inclue <stdio.h>
#include <windows.h>
#include <CL\opencl.h>

typedef struct _PICBUF
{
    unsigned  Width;
    unsigned  Height;
    unsigned  BytesPerPixel;
    unsigned  Components;
    unsigned  BitDepth;
    unsigned  Stride;
    unsigned char  *Data;
}PICBUF, *PPICBUF;

#define SIZEOF_PICBUF(picbuf) \
((picbuf).Stride * (picbuf).Height)

#define COUNTER_TO_MS(Count)    ((Count)/1000000.0)

const char *KernelSource = 
    "__kernel void threshold(__global uchar *input, __global uchar *output, const uchar thres)
"\
    "{
"\
    "   size_t id = get_global_id(0);
"\
    "   output[id] = input[id] < thres ? input[id] : thres;
"\
    "}
"\
    "
";

unsigned GetCounter(double *pdTime);

//------------------------------
int main()
{  
   cl_context context;
   cl_context_properties properties[3];
   cl_kernel kernel;
   cl_command_queue command_queue;
   cl_program program;
   cl_int err;
   cl_uint num_of_platforms = 0;
   cl_platform_id platform_id[2];
   cl_device_id device_id;