passing the right information to the right object

Hello all,

As I sadi before I’m fairly new to collada, so apologies if this all sounds straight forward.
I’m using the integration templates and I’ve managed to get Suzanne (the blender primitive) rendering using the intGeometry template.

I’m now looking at material stuff and I’ve hit a snag.

I’ve got a myGeometry structure that holds all the information from within <geometry> (within <library_gemetries>). The problem is, all the material stuff is within <visual_scene> (within <library_visual_scenes). So, myGeometry knows nothing about materials (which makes sense).

BUT if I have a myMaterials structure that holds the material information, how can I map the right geometry to the right materials? To my knowledge, the order of things is not guaranteed…so I may have geometry data before material data or vice versa.

I’m sure this must be a common problem so I’m hpoing there is a common solution :wink:
What are my options here?

cheers,
g.

There is a late binding method used for this.
The materials and geometry get associated together in the visual scene using <bind_material> and <instance_material> elements.

The COLLADA specification (bind_material chapter) and the release notes do a good job of describing how this linking works. You can find them both at http://www.khronos.org/collada/

There is also a sample document in the www.COLLADA.org/owl test model bank that clearly illustrates this too. its called Multiple_material or multimtl. It’s in the basic samples section.