Optimization of file size

hi guys,

i’m new to gltf.

i have a relatively large scene with complex geometry potentially. my single buffer contains only index and position + normal for each vertex. i have no firm direction on how to make the file size smaller.

my thoughts so far:

1. indices were store in 4 bytes int which perhaps unnecessary? because i found people tend to use 2 bytes unsigned short + situational alignment (another 2 bytes).

i started with unsigned short (65535 max). also, each one of my triangles were treated individually (i mean no strips or fans, though “duplicates” happens), each short represents a unique index (just incrementing from 0 to max).

my scene is quite large, so i figure why not just use 4 bytes int, much larger range. but i believe the downside is space was wasted before reaching ushort max.

am i supposed to stick with ushort for storing indices and use multiple buffers instead?

1. about “duplicates”. how to define “duplicates”?

if i am looking at position only, there are duplicates definitely. but normals are different on the duplicated vertices. does it just make them unique? i googled around and found out that a vertex cannot have multiple normals.

i took a guess (potentially wrong) that rendering pipeline just do vector sum of all normals at a same location. what do i do then? find a way to combine normals for each position before export? shrink the buffer from 1 position & multiple normals to 1 position & 1 normal?

should i look into triangle strip or fan?

could anyone point me the right path? thanks in advance.

Hi @glrules!

If you’re not able to share the scene itself, could you run the model through https://gltf.report and share the stats from the inspect tab? Or this would also work:

npm install --global @gltf-transform/cli
gltf-transform inspect model.glb