Combining textures from Substance Painter?

Hello!

I am new to gltf and are a bit confused how things work. The sample model Damage Helmet used Substance Painter for texturing and materials. From what I understand it has several materials that share the same textures. How do I do that? When exporting gltf from Substance Painter I get a texture set of basecolor, normal and orm for every material that I have on the model. I want to keep each material but I want them to share texture set like the model Damage Helmet. Can someone please help me?

@Friidilinen, this comes down to UVing your model to share textures. You will typically want to split your materials based on your target texel density (how much of your texture each UV island uses) and if you need any specific settings for a material. By this I mean if you have parts of your model that need transparency of any type, you need to set the blend mode of the material to the appropriate method (i.e. blend or mask) but you don’t want parts of the model that have no transparency to share that blend mode but want those materials set to opaque blend mode. This helps with sorting issues where you don’t have access to the depth buffer when drawing transparent meshes without extra cost in the shader.

Most often textures are shared between parts of models or between different models to help with optimizing the scene due to fewer texture loads. For example, if you have a tiling wood texture, you can use that same texture for every mesh that needs the same wood material and the UVs for the mesh will determine how the textures will be rendered on the mesh surface.