Without Shaders

Hello,
I am doing my project in computer graphics. I am new to OpenGL programming, working on it for the past 1 year only.

I am doing a project for driving simulation from a driver point of view. I created an effect with a dynamic cubemap.

Recently I’ve implemented the flow of water droplet in a windshield of the car. Here I used sphere to represent a water droplet.

I am wondering how to make a sphere looks like water. As you know how the water droplet looks like? I am supposed to finish my project by this April and still struggling to do it so. can you please help me to do this or give me some idea?

I am went thru Shader but very difficult to understand. I’ve read about Raytracing to and my supervisor told me to use raytracing so the sphere looks so transparent that of water droplet.

Please suggest me. Looking forward for your reply.
thanx
regards
Riaz.

Hi,

Do you know billboards? I think that’s the best and easiest way to go, basically you just have a semi-transparent image of a water droplet, and you rotate it so that it’s always facing the viewer. This way it appears as a sphere, but it’s actually just a single polygon. This should come in handy since you’re propably supposed to have lots of them and using a sphere for each might get a little expensive.

Make the droplet less translucernt towards the edges to approximate the fresnel effect and use colors from the enviroment to create the illusion of reflection. The droplet (without translucency) should look like a spheremap of a typical enviroment.

-Ilkka

Don’t ray-trace. Render the scene from the point of view of the droplet, then render the droplet with environment mapping, but warp the texture coordinates towards the viewing direction a bit. That way, it’ll look like refraction.

Then apply a little bit of reflection, and you’re done.