Window Resizing

Hello,
I am just getting started with OpenGL, and I need to fix the following problem with some existing code.
The program has white boxes around text. The text stays at a constant size no matter how the window is resized. I need to keep the white boxes surrounding the text at a constant size too, so the text is always surrounded by the box.
However, when I resize a window, the boxes change in dimensions. How can I keep these boxes at a constant size, regardless of the dimensions of the window?

Thanks.

-Brennan Rusnell

I assume you mean you are drawing the box using GL_LINES or something? And thus the perspective view of the box gets smaller when the window gets smaller while the 2D text remains the same size?

If so, instead of drawing the box with fixed coordinates, you need to find the 2D screen coords of the text and use gluUnproject() to find the object/world space coords for your box. Then draw your box using these coords.

This way no matter your perspective, the box stays the same size on the screen.

I am using GL_POLYGON to draw the boxes.
And yes, the perspective view of the box gets smaller when the window gets smaller while the 2D text remains the same size.

How can I find the 2D screen coords?
How can I use gluUnproject()?

Thanks!

Originally posted by PickleWorld:
[b]I assume you mean you are drawing the box using GL_LINES or something? And thus the perspective view of the box gets smaller when the window gets smaller while the 2D text remains the same size?

If so, instead of drawing the box with fixed coordinates, you need to find the 2D screen coords of the text and use gluUnproject() to find the object/world space coords for your box. Then draw your box using these coords.

This way no matter your perspective, the box stays the same size on the screen.[/b]

“How can I find the 2D screen coords?”