Which way to cover with TRIANGLE_STRIPs is faster?

I have an surface that a single non-overlapping triangle strip can’t cover. Which approach is more efficient?

(a) Creating two triangle strips, the first with 10 vertices, and the second with 4 verticles (10 triangles total)

(b) Creating one triangle strip with 14 vertices (12 triangles total: one tri overlaps, and one tri degenerate into a line since all points have the same y- and z-values).

If you know why, that would also be nice to know. :slight_smile:

Strange question. The answer is:

b)

Why? Because calls into GL cost CPU time. If you consume too much of it, your app becomes CPU limited.

Thanks for explaining! :slight_smile:

Why a strange question? I started learning OpenGL yesterday and it wasn’t obvious whether to strive to optimize the # of triangles or the # of calls.

(Although I’m using immediate mode now and I realize that in itself’s not ideal for performance.)

b) - “one tri overlaps” this is likely to cause depth fighting and be visually problematic.

Try doing sensible things first, like avoid immediate mode, before doing more dangerous things that would bring limited improvements.

The first thing you should do is read this:

http://hacksoflife.blogspot.com/2010/01/to-strip-or-not-to-strip.html

Triangle strips are seriously old hat; they were great in 1998 but much much faster and more flexible ways of handling geometry are now available, ways which involve considerably less setup on your part, and ways which you should be using instead.

If you want to work with triangle strips, you should rather use primitive restart insttead of degenerate or overlapping triangles.
However, I agree with mhagain that strips don’t provide that much of performance nowadays. You should rather go with indexed triangles and try to depart from immediate mode as it will always result in CPU bottleneck due to the enormous number of API calls needed.

> Try doing sensible things first, like avoid immediate mode,