Which library loads DDS images faster

I am currently using SOIL to load DDS images , Single DDS image of size 1920 X 1080 takes about 8 milliseconds to load to the disk using SOIL_Load_Image function.

When i try to load the same image using DevIL it takes about 50 milliseconds to load , i am using ilLoadImage function.

Though i am very new to Devil Library is it slow compared to SOIL ?

You might share your timing method and code.

This is going to be primarily a disk-limited operation. If you’re not clearing the disk cache before each test, running each test many times to collect samples, running with each library in the same state each time, and asking each library to perform exactly the same operation, then your timings could be at best apples-and-oranges, or at worst meaningless.

In the main function

int width, height, channels;
	auto start = high_resolution_clock::now();
	unsigned char* image = SOIL_load_image("D:\\RenderCubeDDS\\CubeTest000000.dds", &width, 
        &height, &channels, SOIL_LOAD_AUTO | SOIL_FLAG_DDS_LOAD_DIRECT);
	auto stop = high_resolution_clock::now();
	auto duration = duration_cast<milliseconds>(stop - start);
	std::cout << duration.count() <<   "     With SOIL" << std::endl;
	unsigned int img = LoadImage("D:\\RenderCubeDDS\\CubeTest000000.dds");

///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
Defination of LoadImage() function

int LoadImage(const char* filename)
{
	ILboolean success = false;
	ILuint image;

ilGenImages(1, &image); /* Generation of one image name */
	ilBindImage(image); /* Binding of image name */
	success = ilLoadImage(filename); /* Loading of the image filename by DevIL */	
	ilLoad(IL_DDS, filename);
	ILubyte *Lump;
	ILuint Size;
	FILE *File;
	auto start = high_resolution_clock::now();
	File = fopen(filename, "rb");
	fseek(File, 0, SEEK_END);
	Size = ftell(File);

Lump = (ILubyte*)malloc(Size);