Voodoo2

I have a voodoo2 card. How do i tell openGL to use my card to display?

Just create an OpenGL context and that will kick it out of ‘pass through’ mode. You also need to have the video from the voodoo2 go to a monitor ofcourse. There is no 3D in a window on that card.

You need to link to the 3Dfx OpenGL library of course, not the system opengl32 because the driver isn’t an ICD, only programmers can do this. As a user you can copy the 3Dfx opengl dll to the same directory as the application you want to run, and rename it.

There is a slight risk of clobbering the real system opengl dll if you have software which might move those around, otherwise just be careful and you should be OK doing this.

There are details I’ve intentionally left out, like what you need to rename the dll to. If you don’t know, you shouldn’t be doing this.

I am a programmer.

How do I create an OpenGL context that will kick it out of ‘pass through’ mode?
And how do I check if it is using my voodoo card?

It’s been a while (my voodoo2 is gathering dust in a drawer) you just do this the usual way with a pixelformatdescriptor. I’m not sure what the actual trigger is, I think it’s the make current on the context. Just do everything like you have a proper setup with an ICD and it will happen.

The only thing you need to do is link to the 3Dfx library, either by renaming it to opengl32.dll and stuffing it in the application directory (bad), or explicitly linking to it (better). The portable ‘right’ thing to do is dynamically load it based on selected options (best). QuakeII source was just released and carmack does a library load and binds all the glfunctions with a getprocaddress (macro GPA in the code) get that on id software’s site.

The libraries & headers used to be part of a dev kit and the dll shipped with the card and most games, glsetup etc. For the 3Dfx files look here, I can’t vouch for these:
http://www.pseudonymz.demon.co.uk/download.html#3dfxlib