VAO with a lot of triangles. Just want to texture one..

Hello my friends!!

This is my first post here, and I’m a complete newbie to OpenGL…so please be gentle :smiley:

I’ve followed up some tutorials and I’m using: OpenGL 3.0, GSLM, GLEW, GLM and SOIL.

I’ve created a few triangles, rendered on screen, pretending it is a matrix of squares.

Something like the image bellow

I’ve created my class that generates the array for vertices (to populate my VBO), and for indices (to populate my EBO).
So I have my VAO with all the data that I want.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]1104[/ATTACH]

Now I want to add a texture just to one square (one pair of triangles), so I’ve created successfully my texture, and loaded with SOIL and bind it while rendering like this:

glActiveTexture(GL_TEXTURE0);
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, texture);

Now if I draw it like this:

glBindVertexArray(VAO);
			glDrawElements(GL_TRIANGLES, sizeof(indices)/sizeof(GLuint), GL_UNSIGNED_INT, 0);
        glBindVertexArray(0);

I see all my squares with the same texture…which makes sense :o

Like this:
[ATTACH=CONFIG]1105[/ATTACH]

But now I want to add my texture to just one square… to be like this bellow:

[ATTACH=CONFIG]1106[/ATTACH]

So, I’ve tried using the

glDrawRangeElements

instead of the

glDrawElements

Like this:

#define BUFFER_OFFSET(i) ((char *)NULL + (i))
glDrawRangeElements (GL_TRIANGLES, 0, 6, 3, GL_UNSIGNED_INT, BUFFER_OFFSET(2));

But it doesn’t work :frowning:

THE QUESTION:
How can I tell openGL to just add the texture to just one of my triangles that are on the same VAO?

I have my vertices like:
[0, 1, 0, 1, 1, 0, …]
And my indices like:
[0, 1, 3, 1, 2, 3, …]

And I just want to add a texture to a set of 2 triangles (1 square).

Thank you in advance :slight_smile: