Using the Mouse Event Function

Hello! I’m a beginner to programming in OpenGl and could use some help with the mouse function. The code I have draws 3 squares of different colors on a white background. What I want the mouse function to do is to check and see if the cursor was over a square when the left mouse is clicked. If so, I want to make that square disappear, or basically change it’s color to the background color so it is “invisible.” Below is the code I have so far. I have read about the mouse function in that I know what parameters it takes on, I’m just not sure how to execute it the way that I want to.

#include <GL/glut.h>

float R1 = 1.0, G1 = 0.0, B1 = 0.0, 
      R2 = 0.0, G2 = 1.0, B2 = 0.0, 
      R3 = 0.0, G3 = 0.0, B3 = 1.0;    //colors of squares
float BGR = 1.0, BGG = 1.0, BGB = 1.0; //background colors
int   X1 = 50, Y1 = 50, 
      X2 = 200, Y2 = 100,
      X3 = 225, Y3 = 300;              //coords of squares
int   W = 30;                          //width of squares     

void init (void)
{
  glClearColor (BGR, BGG, BGB, 0.0);
  glShadeModel (GL_FLAT);
}

void drawSquare (int x, int y, int w)
{
  glBegin(GL_POLYGON);
    glVertex2i(x, y);
    glVertex2i(x + w, y);
    glVertex2i(x + w, y + w);
    glVertex2i(x, y + w);
  glEnd();
}

void display (void)
{
  glClear (GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);

glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
  glLoadIdentity();
  gluOrtho2D(0, 400, 0, 400);
  glPolygonMode(GL_FRONT, GL_FILL);
  glColor3f (R1, G1, B1);
  drawSquare (X1, Y1, W);
  glColor3f (R2, G2, B2);
  drawSquare (X2, Y2, W);
  glColor3f (R3, G3, B3);
  drawSquare (X3, Y3, W);

glFlush ();
  glutSwapBuffers();
}

void disappearingSquares(int button, int state, int x, int y)
{
  glColor3f(1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f);  //code not executing
  drawSquare(x, y, 30);       //code not executing
}

int main (int argc, char** argv)
{
  glutInit (&argc, argv);
  glutInitDisplayMode (GLUT_SINGLE|GLUT_RGB);
  glutInitWindowSize (400, 400);
  glutInitWindowPosition (100, 100);