Using Framebuffer to RenderVideo

As an OpenGL newbie, I am working on a project that requires to render Multiple videos in OpenGL Window. Can I use FrameBuffer to store all video frames in it and then render? or, Is it possible to define a layer-based OpenGL Framebuffer on videos frame such as video 1 as layer 1, video 10 as a layer 10? My question is can framebuffer use as store multiple video frames and then render???

First, a framebuffer is something you render to. For storage, you’d use textures. Second, you aren’t going be able to store many frames of uncompressed video in video RAM. Unless the video is short, low-resolution and/or with a low frame rate, storing the entire video as a sequence of uncompressed frames isn’t a viable approach. If you’re decoding the video on the CPU, you’d typically just transfer the frames as needed. If you’re decoding on the GPU, you might store an entire slice (a sequence of frames starting and ending with an I-frame).

@GClements, Videos that I am using is less than 1 min, but the resolution is high. I am using FFmpeg to decode videos frames according to Timeframe of videos. Is there any alternative with a framebuffer to do video rendering ??

Create a pool of 4 textures, as each new frame is displayed, upload the next frame to the texture containing the previous frame. You can reduce the bandwidth/storage somewhat by using YCbCr 4:2:0 or 4:2:2 rather than raw RGB. There’s some support for 4:2:2 via extensions (SGIX_ycrcb, APPLE_ycbcr_422, MESA_ycbcr_texture), 4:2:0 could be implemented via shaders. But you probably aren’t going to fit a minute of video in video RAM; just do the math: width * height * bytes/pixel * frames/second * seconds.

You could fit a minute of compressed video in video RAM, but video decoding is complex and most of the earlier stages aren’t particularly GPU-friendly.