urgent: drawing squares over an image

I’m new to OpenGL
I loaded a ppm image and I can’t figure out how to draw squares over it, then update the coordinates of these shapes. when I draw them using glBegin(GLQuads) nothing is displayed. here is the code:
void display(void)
{

glClear ( GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT );
glRasterPos2i(0,0);
    glColor3f(1.0f, 0.7f, 0.3f);
glBegin(GL_QUADS);
glVertex3f(-0.5f, -3.5f, 3.5f);
glVertex3f(0.5f, -3.5f, 3.5f);
glVertex3f(0.5f, -3.5f, -3.5f);
glVertex3f(-0.5f, -3.5f, -3.5f);

glEnd();
glDrawPixels(n,m,GL_RGB, GL_UNSIGNED_INT, image);
  glFlush ( );

}
I just loads the image. Please help me it’s urgent

yeah, also post please what your PROJECTION and MODELVIEW matrices look like.

It’s my first time with openGL but I tried many different code without any success.
here is the projection that I’m currently having:
void handleResize(int w, int h) {
glViewport(0, 0, w, h);
glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
glLoadIdentity();
gluPerspective(45.0, (float)w / (float)h, 1.0, 200.0);
}
and in the above display function:
glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT);
glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);

does this answer your question?

With glDrawPixels, you draw into the framebuffer in a way that it would erase all previous data already written the the drawing area. Call glDrawPixels before drawing quads it would already helps.

I already tried that… doesn’t work
the only thing I can think of is the fact I’m using double buffering (I tried single buffering too) no results.
Any OpenGL experts?