Understanding glOrtho

I’m a new openGL programmer trying to understand why certain things are happening with my glOrtho call, and what is actually happening when I call certain things. Specifically, why my GL_LINES show up sometimes and don’t show up others.

In my init() function for GL, I set up my viewport to be 640x480, disable lighting, and a few other things. In my paint() function, I do a glOrtho call:

glOrtho(0.0f, 640.0f, 0.0f, 480.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f);

Here’s my question: if I do a glBegin(GL_LINES) and draw lines BEFORE my projection, I have to draw them on the ([0,1],[0,1]) scale, e.g.

glColor4f(1.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0);
  glLineWidth(5.0);
  glBegin( GL_LINES );
  glVertex2f(0, 0);
  glVertex2f(0, 1);
  glEnd();

BUT, if I call it AFTER I do my ortho projection, I draw them on the full ([0,640],[0,480]) scale, e.g.

glColor4f(1.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0);
  glLineWidth(5.0);
  glBegin( GL_LINES );
  glVertex2f(100, 100);
  glVertex2f(200, 200);
  glEnd();

My question is: I thought that everything was relational, so that if I drew a 2D line from 0,0 to 100,100, it would be drawn in some model frame, so that when I did my glOrtho that set my projection to 640x480, it would appear going from 0,0 to 100,100. However, this is not the case.

Can anybody help me understand why/how this is working?

Thank you!

I don’t know what you mean by “relational”, but OpenGL doesn’t know what functions you will call. It only knows what you have called. When you render something, OpenGL uses the state that you have currently set to render with. Any future changes do not have any effect on the rendering up to that point.

And this makes sense. How could you do things like use different textures for different objects if OpenGL knew you were going to change textures? A texture change is no different than a change of perspective matrix: they’re both state changes.