trouble moving "camera"

Hello

i have been googling and looking for a while and i don’t know if im just dumb and not thinking right or am doing something wrong.

i have some experience with 3d graphics and other 3d engines(ogre, irrlicht and others i can’t remember right now) but this is my first time working with opengl directly(well through sdl anyways), this seems like a very simple problem but for some reason i just can’t get it to work right. even drawing it out on paper doesn’t seem to work when i put whats on paper in to code.

so here is the problem.
i have my camera set up at 0,0,0 looking directly ahead with the plane right under me. i hit “w” on my keyboard and the plane moves towards me. then i turn the camera 90 degrees to the right hit “w” and now the plane moves to the right. instead of towards me.

here is the code im using for updating the coordinates.

void Camera::AddX(float X)
{
    x += X * float(cos(yrot));
    printf("%f",x);
}
void Camera::AddY(float Y)
{
    y += Y;// * float(cos(xrot)); //Commented out the trig for the y axis until i get the rest worked out
    printf("%f",y);
}
void Camera::AddZ(float Z)
{
    z += Z * float(sin(yrot));
    printf("%f",z);
}

theCam.AddYRot(Event->motion.xrel * mouseSensitivity * 3.14159265f / 180);
theCam.AddXRot(Event->motion.yrel * mouseSensitivity * 3.14159265f / 180);

and here is my render code.

glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT|GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT);
    glLoadIdentity();
    // glPushMatrix();
    glRotatef(theCam.GetXRot(),1,0,0);
    glRotatef(theCam.GetYRot(),0,1,0);
    glRotatef(theCam.GetZRot(),0,0,1);
    glTranslatef(-theCam.GetX(),-theCam.GetY(),-theCam.GetZ());
    glColor3f(.3,.3,.3);
    glBegin(GL_QUADS);
    glVertex3f( -5,0, -5);
    glVertex3f( -5,0,5);
    glVertex3f(5,0,5);
    glVertex3f(5,0, -5);
    glEnd();
    // glPopMatrix();
    SDL_GL_SwapBuffers();