Tips debugging code which compiles, and gives no errors

Hello, I’m new to modern OpenGL (in the process of taking a course now). Funny enough, I was about to post my code here and ask what was wrong with it but with some dumb luck I ended up catching my mistake in the process of writing this up :laughing:

Despite this, I would like to know some tips / strategies you guys use to debug code which compiles and gives no errors. For example, the code which I was having problems with would compile shaders w/o errors, and it would link them w/o errors but nothing was being drawn to the view port. If everything “looks” good, but something isn’t right, where do you guys begin to look for problems?

Usually I’d simplify the shaders until I get something other than the background colour, then start adding bits back in until it doesn’t do what I expect. If a trivial shader doesn’t produce recognisable geometry then I’d use a debugger to check what data is actually being sent.

However: debugging when you understand both the underlying principles and the OpenGL API is somewhat different to debugging when your understanding of either (or both) is somewhat incomplete. In the former case, the issue is invariably some trivial mistake. In the latter case, even having all of the information in front of you doesn’t necessarily tell you why it isn’t working.

@R_Shobu
If you get no errors on the shaderside and none from glGetError() then you’r likely facing trouble on the matrixes. (It’s hard to imagine a setup without matrixes). I havn’t yet seen a opengl book not mentioning that this matrix-stuff is the hardest part for newbees. … some of us never grows old in this respect …