Structure that stores vertices, faces and edges

Hi…

could you explain to me how to implement and use a structure that stores vertices, faces and edges please?

Many thanks…

Nicolas

I’m just a beginner, but why not use vertex arrays or interleaved arrays? Their in the RedBook.

It may not be convenient enough unfortunately… that is what I started to do but you need to be able to identify each edge individually…

I’ve seen a few postings now from you and I’m quite interested in exactly what you’re trying to do. If you could give me an idea as to what it is, I may be able to help you out.

Cool…

Here’s what I’m trying to do…

I want to implement a non-photorealistic renderer… I’d like to draw lines that communicate shapes at best, that is to say silhouettes, surface discontinuities (sharp edges and folds) and surface boundaries… I know all the theory about it but I need to implement it in programming now…

My algorithms are the following:

Silhouettes:

Detect and draw the edges that are shared between one front-facing polygon and one back-facing polygon by comparing the normals of the adjacent faces of these edges…

sharp edges:

Detect and draw the edges that are shared between two faces which form an angle superior to a threshold by comparing the normals of the adjacent faces of these edges…

AND I NEED SOME HELP…

the main thing for me is to create a structure that stores some information on the edges and their adjacent faces… because I know how to do the rest (compare normals) but I don’t know how to use a structure that can help me to code my algorithms…

MANY THANKS

Nico

Hi Nico,
as someone else pointed out you’ll need to store your geometry in a data structure optimized for “edge” searches.
One of such structure is the winged edge data structure.
Among the hits of a rapid search on altavista reported this page: http://www.cs.mtu.edu/~shene/COURSES/cs390/NOTES/model/winged-e.html
which seems a good introduction