String Processing

I’m using C++ to do some data reading from a standard ASCII text file. Here is an example text file:

3 100,200 300,400 500,600
4 111,222 111,333 111,444 111,555
2 222,111 333,888

Notice how the first number of each row tells you how many pairs of numbers follow it.

Here is my problem, I can’t think up of a quick way to extract these pairs of numbers. Normally I use sscanf to read the values, but with sscanf you have to know exactly how many values to read in. Does anyone know of a way to read in the first number and then use some sort of loop the read in the pairs of numbers?

You probably can tell that I’m new to this. If you are wondering what these numbers mean: (number of polygon vertices) (vertex number), (texture vertex number)…( ),( )

basically, you read in the entire file to a buffer (I use an invisible MemoBox), then you go line by line, read in the first number, run a for loop, then find the position of the comma, and take substrings… example:

AnsiString word;
ifstream fin;
fin.open(file);
while(getline(word,fin)){
TMemo1->Lines->Add(word);
}
fin.close();

for(int count=0; countLines->Count;count++){
AnsiString line = TMemo1->Lines->Strings[count];
int dot = line.Pos(" “);
//finds whitespace
int total = StrToInt(line.SubString(0,dot-1));
AnsiString line_remainder = line;
for(int index=0;index<total;index++){
dot = line_remaider.Pos(” “);
line_remainder = line_remainder.SubString(dot,line_remainder.length()-dot)
//leaves the next spot open
dot = line_remainder.Pos(”,“);
int arg1 = StrToInt(line_remainder.SubString(0,dot-1));
int length = line_remainder.Pos(” ")-dot;
int arg2 = StrToInt(line_remainder.SubString(dot+1,length-1));
//take care of arguments here
}
}

this code is written on the fly, but it is very close to the parser I was using to import/export pov-ray files [successfully]. Unfortunately, I have been having problems with someone maliciously deleting files, so I don’t have that code handy.