Six Million Vertex GL_LINE_STRIP

I’m a graduate CS student working on a bioinformatics project. The program takes a nucleotide sequence of bases (A,G,C, or T) and uses an algorithim to assign each base a 3D vertex coordinate. We then use GL_LINE_STRIP to plot all of the vertices in order to create a 3D plot of the sequence.

When only rendering 15-20 thousand vertices the program works perfectly. The problem is when I attempt about 6 million vertices, I just can’t get smooth animation when moving the plot around. It is usuable, but I figure I should be able to get smooth animation when all I have is vertices.

I have shading set to GL_FLAT. I have divided the sequence into Display lists of 15000 calls to glVertex3f() apiece and I using one call to glCallLists() to execute them. The lists are being created as GL_COMPILE.

I am trying to optimize the program for the nvidia driver set and am currently working on a P4 machine with a GeForce 3 running redhat 7.1 I have properly installed the actual nvidia drivers and have true hardware acceleration.

I have a lot of CS experience but not as much OpenGL or graphics. I am open to suggestions as to the optimum way to handle this. In particular I think that maybe I need to make sure that I’m not wasting time rendering parts of the sequence not in the viewing area. Given a 6 million vertex sequence there may be 150,000 visible onscreen at anyone time. Does gluPerspective() handle this automatically , or do I need to cull manually? If so what is the best way to cull when you’re using display lists? I’ve read that display lists are much faster than vertex arrays for nvidia, is this true?

Any and all help the experts out there can give would be appreciated.

thanks,
J0ey4