Shadows on wrong side of Shadow Volumes

I’m very new to OpenGL.

I have an object created from triangles. I draw shadow volumes from this object to infinity but, when compiled, they show up on side A or side B of the shadow volumes and I need them to show up on side C if that makes any sense.

The shapes of the volumes are correct in that they are tangent to the object and on the side opposite the light source.

Lastly, I don’t know if the problem is in the order I’m sending the vertexes to glVertex3f and glVertex4f or in the way I’m drawing the scene.

//------DRAW SCENE with lights off
glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT | GL_STENCIL_BUFFER_BIT);
glLightfv(GL_LIGHT0, GL_AMBIENT, light_ambient);
glEnable(GL_LIGHTING);
glDisable(GL_LIGHT0);
draw_scene();

//------DRAW SHADOW VOLUMES with backface culling
glEnable(GL_STENCIL_TEST);
glStencilFunc(GL_ALWAYS, GL_FALSE, GL_FALSE); glEnable(GL_CULL_FACE);
glCullFace(GL_BACK);
glColorMask(GL_FALSE, GL_FALSE, GL_FALSE, GL_FALSE);
glDepthMask(GL_FALSE);
glDepthFunc(GL_LEQUAL);
glStencilOp(GL_KEEP, GL_KEEP, GL_INCR);
draw_shadow_volumes();

//------DRAW SHADOW VOLUMES with frontface culling
glCullFace(GL_FRONT);
glStencilOp(GL_KEEP, GL_KEEP, GL_DECR);
draw_shadow_volumes();

//------DRAW SCENE with lights on
glEnable(GL_DEPTH_TEST);
glDepthFunc(GL_LEQUAL);
glColorMask(GL_TRUE, GL_TRUE, GL_TRUE, GL_TRUE);
glDepthMask(GL_TRUE);
glStencilOp(GL_KEEP, GL_KEEP, GL_KEEP);
glStencilFunc(GL_EQUAL, 0, -1);
glEnable(GL_LIGHT0);
draw_scene();

A picture of the problem might help us a bit here :wink:

Sure thing and Thanks.

Seems you’re trying to implement Z-Pass Stencil Shadows with shadowed areas indicated by a stencil value > 0.

So you want to configure stencil to achieve the following: