Shader performance/complexity problem

Hello,

I’m an experienced graphics programmer, but am very new to GLSL. I’m writing a number of shaders for visual effects in a project I’m coding via OpenSceneGraph.

My problem is that this particular fragment shader is killing my performance. I get around 40-50 fps without it, but when adding this shader, I’m knocked down to about 10-15 fps. Being new to GLSL, I really have no frame of reference for how many operations a shader can contain and still be manageable. The problem occurs even when this is the only shader active.

There’s only a few thousand polygons in the scene, and the geometry thats being shaded only covers a small amount of pixels, I’d say less than 1%.

I’ve listed the code below. Is this really too expensive a shader? or is something else going on here, like the shader is recompiling constantly (which is my hope, and tthen find the fix). When I hard code a value into “offset” near the bottom just before assigning to gl_fragcolor (as a test), performance is fine, but I’m guessing the compiler is optimizing out all the code above it since its then not needed, right?

Any help would be appreciated, as the performance is unuable as is.

Thanks.

varying in vec4 fragpos;
uniform float timeSU;
uniform float cyclepos;

void main()
	{
		fragpos.z += 3.96;
		vec4 green = vec4(0.0, .2, 0.0, .5);

float pulsealpha = abs(sin(cyclepos));

vec2 dir = fragpos.xy;
		vec2 dirNorm = normalize(dir);
		vec3 dirNorm3 = vec3(dirNorm.x, dirNorm.y, 0.0);

vec3 basepoint = dirNorm3 * 2.12; 
		vec3 fragpointer = fragpos.xyz - basepoint;
		fragpointer = normalize(fragpointer);

float minangle;

float dot = (dot(fragpointer, dirNorm3));
		minangle = atan( fragpointer.z , dot ); 

minangle = degrees(minangle);  

float sgn = 1.0;
		if( mod(cyclepos, 6.28) > 3.14)  
			sgn = -1.0;

float offset = sgn * minangle *.0055555556;  
		offset = (offset ) + .5;    
		offset = mod(offset + timeSU, .25 ) * 4.0;

offset *=.75;