Sample use of shaders on Linux

Hello,

I need to code a sample program which would use shaders to calculate some simple operation (e.g. transformation) and which I could then compare to similar code in standard OpenGL without the shader support. I have basic knowledge of OpenGL but I know nothing about shaders. I noticed that there are severals standarts like Cg, GLSL or CUDA to use them but I really need something as simplest as it can be.

I searched the net in order to find some samples but I really can’t find anything which would go on Linux and wouldn’t require huge, additional software - just C++ compiler, some extra OGL libraries and a proper makefile (I understand that the shader program should be compiled and linked in some way).

If anyone would like to help me, I would be very, very grateful. My hardware is Intel GMA900 graphic card (laptop integrated - it supports 1.4 OpenGL, is it enough?). I run it under Ubuntu 7.10 OS.

Best regards,
Sebastian Kapciak

Hello,

I need to code a sample program which would use shaders to calculate some simple operation (e.g. transformation) and which I could then compare to similar code in standard OpenGL without the shader support. I have basic knowledge of OpenGL but I know nothing about shaders. I noticed that there are severals standarts like Cg, GLSL or CUDA to use them but I really need something as simplest as it can be.

I searched the net in order to find some samples but I really can’t find anything which would go on Linux and wouldn’t require huge, additional software - just C++ compiler, some extra OGL libraries and a proper makefile (I understand that the shader program should be compiled and linked in some way).

If anyone would like to help me, I would be very, very grateful. My hardware is Intel GMA900 graphic card (laptop integrated - it supports 1.4 OpenGL, is it enough?). I run it under Ubuntu 7.10 OS.

Best regards,
Sebastian Kapciak